skip to main content

ABTPA Grant Resources

The Auto Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority (ABTPA) awards financial grants to agencies, organizations, and concerned parties in an effort to raise public awareness of vehicle theft and burglary and implement education and prevention initiatives.


icon infoOn July 10, 2014, the ABTPA Board of Directors awarded grants for Fiscal Year 2015 programs designed to reduce the incidence of motor vehicle burglary and theft. This period includes, September 1, 2014 through August 31, 2015.

FY2015 Grant Awards


How to apply for an ABTPA Grant

  1. Verify that your organization meets the eligibility requirements (see Eligibility tab);
  2. Review the Request for Proposal for grant information and requirements (ABTPA is currently creating the Fiscal Year 2016 Request for Proposal. Once posted to the Texas Register, a link will be provided on this webpage);
  3. Create a user account in the ABTPA’s Grant Management System, eGrants (see ABTPA’s Grant Management System link to the right);
  4. Email ABTPA at to established user account and to start the process for applying for a grant;
  5. Submit an application in eGrants for the next grant cycle.

Please check the Grant Workshop tab for information on the mandatory Grant Workshop.


Access to the ABTPA eGrants system is available to all eligible organizations. Access to the eGrants system, and/or using the eGrants system to submit a proposal does not guarantee the award of a grant or grant funds. Eligible organizations assume all risk and liability for any losses, damages, claims or expenses resulting from the use of eGrants. Eligible organizations agree to indemnify, defend and hold harmless TxDMV, its officers, agents and employees from and against any and all claims, suits, losses, damages or costs, including reasonable attorney's fees, arising from or by use of eGrants.


ABTPA hosts an annual mandatory grant training workshop to provide applicants information on the ABTPA program, the application process, and grant administration. The workshop is required for entities wishing to apply for a grant for the Fiscal Year 2016 (September 1, 2015 - August 31, 2016.) We suggest that all employees who will be associated with the administration of the FY 2016 grant attend, however at least one representative must be present. Entities that are not a current grantee must complete an "Intent to Apply" questionnaire prior to registering for this workshop.

Intent to Apply Form

The request for proposal/grant applications for FY 2016 will be presented along with information on how to access the ABTPA Grant Management System, eGrants.

2015 Grant Workshop Agenda

ABTPA Annual Grant Workshop

March 24, 2015, from 8 A.M. to 5 P.M.
Embassy Suites San Marcos
1001 E. McCarty Lane
San Marcos, Texas 78666

Note: Pre-Registration for the ABTPA Grant Workshop is now closed. Participants can register onsite beginning at 8:00 am on Tuesday, March 24.



List of

The Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority (ABTPA) oversees the impact of auto theft in Texas and provides financial support to fight it.
Use the map below to find your local area task force or view the complete list.

View ABTPA Grantees in a larger map


Grantees List


Austin Auto Theft Interdiction Project

  • 715 E. 8th Street, Austin, Texas 78701
  • 512.974.5713

Beaumont Southeast Texas Auto Theft Task Force

  • 2430 W. Cardinal Drive, Suite C, Beaumont, Texas 77705
  • 409.654.3600

Brownsville Auto Theft Enforcement Task Force

  • 600 E. Jackson Street, Brownsville, TX 78520
  • 956.548.7144
BurnetCo-HOTATTF logo

Burnet County Heart of Texas Auto Theft Task Force

  • A125 Topeka, Ste. A, Waco, TX 76712
  • 254.757.0701

Corpus Christi Auto Theft Prevention Grant

  • 321 John Sartain, Corpus Christi, TX 78401
  • 361.886.2889

Dallas Commercial Auto Theft Interdiction Squad

  • 1400 S. Lamar, Dallas, TX 75215
  • 214.670.1450

Dallas County North Texas Auto Theft Task Force

  • 133 North Riverfront Blvd LB 31, Dallas, TX 75207
  • 214.653.3430

Del Rio Auto Burglary and Theft Prevention and Recovery Unit

  • 101 Lowe Drive, Del Rio, TX 78840
  • 830.774.8773

Eagle Pass Police Department Auto Theft & Interdiction Unit

  • 100 South Monroe Street, Eagle Pass, TX 78852
  • 830.773.9044

El Paso Auto Theft Prevention Task Force

  • 9600 Dyer Street, El Paso, TX 79924
  • 915.298.9600

Galveston County Auto Crimes Task Force

  • 1620 Gill Rd. Dickinson, TX 77539
  • 409.766.4500
Harris County Anniversary Logo

Harris County Auto Theft Division

  • 1200 Baker Street, Houston, TX 77002
  • 281.446.4399

Houston Major Accessory Shop Enforcement

  • 1200 Travis, Suite 500, Houston, TX 77002
  • 713.308.3440
Laredo Police ATTF-1

Laredo Auto Theft Task Force

  • 4712 Maher Ave., Laredo, TX 78041
  • 956.795.2339

Lubbock County South Plains Auto Theft Task Force

  • 916 Main, Suite 205 Lubbock, Texas 79401
  • 806.775.1569

Mansfield Tri-County Auto Burglary and Theft Prevention Task Force

  • 1305 East Broad Street, Mansfield, TX 76063
  • 682.518.9242

Missouri City Burglary and Automobile Theft Task Force

  • 3849 Cartwright Rd, Missouri City, TX 77459
  • 281.403.5835

Montgomery County Auto Theft Task Force

  • 102 Academy Dr., Conroe, TX 77301
  • 936.760.5847

Paris Northeast Texas Auto Theft Task Force

  • 2910 Clarksville St, Paris, TX 75460
  • 903.737.4193

Pasadena Auto Theft Prevention Program

  • 1114 Jeff Ginn Memorial Drive, Pasadena, TX 77506
  • 713.477.1221

Reduce Auto Theft in Texas

  • Denton Police Department 601 East Hickory Suite E Denton, Texas 76205
  • 1-800-CAR-WATCH

San Antonio Regional Auto Crimes Team

  • 215 S. San Saba, Suite 104, San Antonio, TX 78207
  • 210.207.2340

Smith County East Texas Crushers Auto Theft Task Force

  • 1124 East Front Street, Tyler, TX 75702
  • 903.593.6090

Tarrant Regional Auto Crimes Task Force

  • 3530 Joyce Drive, Fort Worth, TX 76116
  • 817.560.6560

TxDPS - Border Auto Theft Information Center

  • 11612 Scott Simpson, El Paso, TX 79936
  • 1-800-503-2877

TxDPS - Training

  • 6100 Guadalupe, Austin, TX 78752
  • 512-437-4744

Travis County Sheriff's Combined Auto Theft Task Force

  • 509 West 11th St., Austin, TX 78701
  • 512.854.9735
VictoriaPD logo

Victoria Police Department

  • 306 South Bridge St., Victoria, TX 77901
  • 361.485.3700


More Information

For more information, please email the Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority at or call (512) 465-1485.

Copyright © 2015 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731